Ever been in a situation where you viewed someone’s Instagram Highlights by accident? And panickily thinking in mind “Can they see that I viewed their Instagram Highlights?”. Well, read on!
We understand that there are times where you might not always want the other person to know you had seen their Highlights.
So, here comes the question, is there any way to know if that person notices your eyeballs? Fortunately for everyone, there is!
In this article, you will find a comprehensive answer ahead. Throughout the end of it, you will be equipped with all the knowledge on how Instagram Highlights view count works.
Without further ado, let’s get down to business.
Can Someone See That I Viewed Their Instagram Highlights?
Yes, if the highlight was added in less than 48 hours from the original Story published time, they will be able to see that you viewed their Instagram Highlight.
But, if the Story has been published for longer than 48 hours, lucky for you, they won’t be able to see that you have viewed it.
So, the answer to that question depends mainly on the timing of the story posted.
Again, if the Highlights is viewed during the duration of less than 48 hours after it was posted for the first time (not taken from saved stories), then yes, there will be a record of your profile in the viewers list.
For instance, when someone posts a story and immediately adds that story to their Highlights, whoever watches the Highlights within the next 48 hours, their name will appear in the viewers list.
Thankfully, most people create Highlights from their old stories. Which is to say, there is a higher chance that they won’t know if you have viewed their Highlights.
Reason is that Instagram stops updating viewers for older stories. Keep in mind that a freshly posted story will only be live for 24 hours before vanishing from Instagram Stories. In the case the story is added to Highlights right after posting it, only viewers who view the Highlight within the 48 hours duration are recorded.
Can You See Who Views Your Instagram Highlights?
Yes, you can see who views your Instagram Highlights but only 48 hours after publishing the Story for the first time. As mentioned before, once the time expires you won’t be able to know who views your Highlights.
We recommend you that, before the 24 hrs window you have for your story to disappear, you add it to your highlights. This way you are technically adding another 24 hrs of data into your story.
Once the 48 hrs have passed, you can decided to keep it in you highlights or remove it.
Know Who Viewed My Highlights After 48 Hours?
So you wonder, maybe these rules don’t apply to me and I still could see who viewed my Highlights after 48 hours. Unfortunately, the same rules apply here.
As already mentioned before, only a freshly posted story that is added to Highlights right away and is no older than 48 hours can see its viewers.
So, if you are adding the story to Instagram Highlights after two days of posting it, you won’t be able to see the profile that has viewed the Highlights.
Who Can See Your Instagram Highlights?
Anyone can see your Instagram Highlights if:
- Your account is not private
- You did not hide your Instagram Story from them
- Your posted story are not for Close Friends only
Thus, a random person who comes across your profile can view your Instagram Highlights as long as your account is public and you did not hide your Instagram Stories from them.
If you choose to make your account private, in this case, only your followers could view your Highlights. Unless you choose to hide your story from your followers, or posted the story for Close Friends only, otherwise, people who follow your account will be able to view your Instagram Highlights.
Thinking of hiding your Instagram Stories from a specific person? Follow these simple step:
- Click on the profile you want to hide your Instagram Stories from
- Tap on the hamburger icon at the top right corner of the profile page
- Choose “Hide your story”
Once you choose to hide your story from someone, automatically they won’t be able to view your Instagram Highlights.
Regardless of whether they are your followers or not, as long as you hide your story from them, they can’t view anything from your Highlights section whenever they visit your profile.
Do Instagram Highlights Last Forever?
Absolutely! Instagram Highlights last as long as you want. Until and unless you decide to delete the Highlights, it will remain visible on your profile forever.
Unlike Instagram Stories where it will only stay visible for 24 hours, any story that is added to Highlights will last eternity. Meaning that if you want to show some old stories to your audience, you can always add those stories to your Instagram Highlights.
Adding Instagram stories to Highlights is an excellent way to keep them evergreen. Here is the fastest way on how you can add your stories to highlights:
- Go to your profile
- Tap on “+” under your bio
- Select the story you want to include in your Highlights
- Next, edit the cover and name the Highlights
- Lastly, tap “Add”
You might not see your latest added stories in your Highlights immediately. Don’t panic, just slide down the page to refresh it and the Highlights should appear then.
As your stories are now added to your Highlights section, it will stay visible to the public, and only to your followers if your profile is set to private.
Can You See The View Count Of A Highlight?
Yes, you can see the view count of your Instagram Highlights. Having a tab on the number of people that see your Instagram Highlights can help you to analyze your own content quality and understand the demographic of your followers.
Unfortunately, only view count that happens within the 48-hours window is recorded by Instagram. Instagram will stop updating the view count once it is more than 48 hours old.
Here is how you can check how many views your Instagram Highlights have:
- Open your Instagram account
- Go to the profile section
- Open the Highlight by clicking it
- You can see the view count at the bottom-left corner next to “Seen by”
Instagram Highlights Viewing – FAQ
How Does The View Count Work?
Every single time someone views your Highlights, Instagram adds a view count. In most cases, you will see a higher number of views, even though the username appeared might seem lesser.
Reason is viewers name remain as one for each profile that views it, even if they might view it multiple times. Hence, due to this downside, you won’t know who actually views your Highlights more than once.
Can You View Someone’s Story If You Don’t Follow Them?
The only way you can see someone’s story without following them is if their profile is public. Private profiles stories can’t be seen by others.
Same as regular posts, stories depend fully on the privacy settings of the profile. Anyone with a private account will prevent any other users who are not in their followers lists to see view their content.
Can Someone See How Many Times You Viewed Their Instagram Story?
No, no one can’t see how many times you viewed their Instagram story. Stories only record the first time you viewed it.
So if you want to watch a story multiple times feel free to do so, the profile who posted the story will only see your profile in the viewed list once.
Can you look at an Instagram story without them knowing?
The only way to watch someone’s story without them knowing is by using a 3rd party app where you can look up their profile if they are public.
There are a few websites who let you “stalk” public profiles without you having to follow the account.
If the account you want to see is private there is not way for you to see any of their content, you will have to follow them to watch anything.
The question of “Can Someone See That I Viewed Their Instagram Highlights” has a twofold answer. Firstly, for any view to be counted, it must be a freshly published story.
If the added story in Instagram Highlights is less than 48 hours old, then they will be able to see your profile if you viewed it.
Otherwise, your profile won’t be updated in the viewer list when you view the story after the 48 hours golden period. Thus, in this case, they won’t be able to tell if you have viewed their Highlights.