One of the reasons that YouTube became such a successful platform is the community aspect of the platform. By allowing you to subscribe to individual channels, creators can easily establish a community of fans that will interact with their content.
The interaction takes place in a variety of ways. One can like the content, add it to playlists, and most notably, comment on it.
Comments is a way that allows viewers to share their views. They may praise the creators, give opinion and suggestion, or purely venting their frustration .
These comments can be liked or disliked by other users, as well as replying to them, thus, sparking discussions among viewers. While this can be a positive feature, it can still lead to some malicious activity like trolling creators or posting inappropriate messages.
Besides, just like how easy it is to post comments, one can easily delete their comment with just a click. However, are these deleted comments completely gone? Or can still be seen by the YouTuber?
In this article, we will explore whether YouTubers can see deleted comments.
Can YouTubers See Deleted Comments?
If you delete a comment right before the YouTuber has a chance to see it, chances are they won’t be able to see the deleted comment.
Technically speaking, YouTubers will receive a notification with a preview of the comment whenever someone comments on their content. Nevertheless, this depends also on their notification setting.
YouTubers with more subscribers tend to turn off the notifications, thus decreasing the chances of seeing any deleted comment. Even if they enable the notification, as long as you delete the comment quick enough, they won’t be able to see it.
However, the outcome might change if someone else has screenshot or recorded the comment prior to your deletion, and send it to the relevant YouTuber.
Obviously it is a very unlikely scenario, but it is not something out of the realm of possibility. To avoid such issues, it’s best to carefully consider the comments. Be sure to only publish messages that you wouldn’t mind the channel owner to see.
Also, keep in mind that if your comment breaches YouTube’s terms of service, which includes spam, sexually explicit content, hate speech, terrorism, bullying or misinformation, other users can report you and you will risk severe punishments.
In this case, it doesn’t matter if you’re the one who deleted the comment, or YouTube removed it due to a breach of the rules, the creator could potentially see the comment through an email notification.
Lastly, there is also a possibility the comment is saved on cached versions of the site (which can be restored), if you’re not deleting it quick enough. Although it’s very unlikely for someone to go to such a length to restore a deleted comment, there’s no way to guarantee it won’t happen.
The first rule of thumb that you should remember is to only leave comments where you’re comfortable with the creator seeing it.
YouTube takes their terms of service seriously. Which means you may get flagged by the platform or be reported by other users if you post inappropriate comments.
When this happens, whether you deleted the comment yourself, or systematically deleted by YouTube, the creator might see the comment from email notifications.
All in all, keep in mind that there is always an appropriate way to express a disagreement, or criticism, without being offensive or inappropriate.