Are you one of those who wishes to understand how to delete your episodes on YouTube TV?
YouTube TV offers one of the best cloud DVR experiences, allowing you to record an infinite number of films and have recordings segregated into every family member’s account.
However, the infinite nature of the cloud DVR could have unintended and often undesirable side consequences. One of them is how to delete shows from your YouTube TV library.
Can You Delete Episodes On YouTube TV?
Yes, you can! The platform’s cloud DVR feature lets you record and save your favorite shows. However, you can delete such recordings if you no longer need them.
To delete a recording, just navigate to the movie or show in your library and pick the recording you wish to remove. You should also see an option to delete the recording. Remember that once you delete it, it can’t be recovered.
But there are also different ways to do so, you can find them below.
How To Delete Episodes On YouTube TV
Method #1. On The Web
- Log in to your YouTube TV account on your web browser.
- Go to your Library.
- Find the show or movie you wish to delete.
- Click on the three dots on the right side of the movie or show’s title.
- Choose “Delete recording.”
- Confirm the selection by choosing “Delete.”
Method #2. On Your Mobile Device
- Open the YouTube TV app on your Android or iOS device.
- Click on the Library tab at the bottom of your screen.
- Find the movie or show you wish to remove.
- Hit the three dots on the right side of the movie or show’s title.
- Click “Delete recording.”
- For the last step, confirm the deletion by choosing “Delete.”
Method #3. Auto-Delete Feature
The auto-delete option on the platform enables you to automatically remove recordings from the cloud DVR after a set time. Here’s how you can do it:
- Log in to your YouTube TV account and open the web browser or the app on your mobile device.
- Go to Library. Click on the Library tab on the top navigation bar. On the app, hit the library tab at the bottom of your screen.
- On the web, click on your profile icon in the top right corner of the screen and click “Settings.” On the mobile app, tap on your profile and gear icons to access settings.
- Navigate to the “Recordings” section.
- In the Recordings section, you will see an option categorized “Auto delete recordings.” Pick a time frame from the drop-down menu to set how long the recordings will be shaved before they are deleted automatically. Options range from 7 days to 24 months.
- After you set the auto-delete option, you can tap or click “Save” to confirm the changes.
Again, once you delete a recording on YouTube TV, it can’t be recovered. Deleting a recording will also delete it from the cloud DVR. That’s why you should ensure that you no longer need the recording before you delete it.
Why Can’t My Saved Recordings Be Deleted On YouTube TV?
Saved recordings on YouTube TV might not be able to be deleted for a few reasons:
There are instances when YouTube TV might limit the ability to delete recordings based on user permissions. For instance, if a recording was made while signed into another account. That only means you can’t delete it from your account.
It may not be possible for you to delete particular recordings, especially if there are technical issues with YouTube TV’s cloud DVR.
For instance, if the recording was lost or corrupted due to a technical problem, it may not be possible for you to delete it.
Some recordings might be protected by copyright laws, making them unable to be deleted. On top of that, other content providers may have agreements with YouTube TV, which stop the deletion of specific recordings.
Are you unable to delete recordings on YouTube TV? We recommend that you reach out to YouTube TV’s customer support for help. They may also offer further details on why the recording can’t be deleted and whether there’s an answer to the concern.
Is It Necessary To Delete YouTube TV Recordings?
Deleting episodes on YouTube TV is not needed, but it can be good for various reasons:
Management – Deleting episodes can help you manage space more efficiently, especially if you have limited storage space for your cloud DVR recordings.
Organization – Keeping your cloud DVR organized by deleting episodes you no longer need could make it simpler to find the content you wish to watch in the future.
Storage – Do you have lots of recordings saved in your cloud DVR? You know how it can take up a huge amount of storage space. Deleting the episodes you no longer need could free up space and guarantee your cloud DVR is just storing content you wish to keep.
We hope you find the steps provided above helpful and informative. Deleting YouTube TV episodes is a personal preference and not a requirement.
If you wish to keep all your recordings for as long as possible, you can do so without deleting them. It is up to you and your individual preferences and needs.